ALONG THE ROAD OF LIFE

There is so much to see along the road of life; trees growing on a hillside, a bridge crossing over a river, fields of grain, vineyards, deserts and mountains and so much more. When you go on a road trip you never know what you might see around the next curve or over the next mountain. In this great country of ours you can see almost every kind of landscape there is depending on the part of the country you are traveling in. I’ve seen harbors with great ships, wide open prairies and snow capped mountains. I’ve seen vast deserts with layers of color; wide horizons and narrow mountain passes with lush, forest covered slopes. I’ve seen farmland and wide vistas of land not tamed. I’ve seen small towns ranging from tiny hamlets to bustling farm towns full of country time flavor and cities with millions of people living and working in buildings that rise dozens of floors above the ground.

It’s all beautiful. It’s all wonderful to explore. But, my world has grown a bit narrow in these days of retirement. Not only is the budget a lot smaller, but between doing repairs and remodeling on the house my sister and I share and dealing with more animals than we thought we would ever have, life has become more confined.

Travel has been almost non existent in my world over the past two years, with the exception of visits to my daughter in Colorado. With all the COVID restrictions and prices going up, travel just hasn’t had the same appeal it had in the past and I don’t know if that will change anytime soon. So, I have to be content with all the photographs I have of past trips. And doing little remodeling jobs around the house; trying to get my yard into shape (which is a losing battle this year), and just trying not to get discouraged.

Along the road of life in daily living, daily events and day to day functions has been a study in faith because seeing what is happening in the world around me in politics, economics and world conditions is enough to fill a person with despair if they don’t have faith that God is still on His throne. I keep putting my faith in Him and trusting all that He has been saying to the church about our future and His plans to save our nation. I look at the photographs I have of past journeys and I see all that beauty just waiting for people to notice and I wonder if the world collapses from the evil of our leadership will it still be there for my children; or their children?

So I stop listening to what the world is pushing with their “woke” agendas and their propaganda for government to step in and control our lives, and I put my faith and my trust and my hope in God. He has declared that America shall be saved. He has told us that He is breaking strongholds and turning things around for us and I choose to believe Him. My Hope is built on nothing less than Jesus and His righteousness!! We will see our country great again!

Leave a comment